Go to Content
This site is best viewed with javascript turned on.
This site uses features not supported by Internet Explorer.
In response to the COVID-19 crisis, all loans applications are being processed electronically and the client interviews are taking place by Skype or Facetime.
JFLA makes loans, in part, to the generosity of Cedars Sinai, Councilmember David Ryu, Supervisors Mark Ridley Thomas and Sheila Kuehl.
J f l a virtual event header graphic02 hersys

A Virtual Event for COVID Relief

Sunday, February 21, 2021
7:00 PM - 8:00 PM

Register Now

Help raise funds for COVID Relief from the comfort of your own home!

Join us as we honor Sam Yebri and Dr. Julie Higashi, while we Zoom into 2021 laughing with The Second City!

Honoring Sam Yebri and Julie Higashi

About Sam Yebri

Sam is an accomplished community leader, experienced attorney, and former Los Angeles City Commissioner. He is the former President and Co-founder of 30 Years After, a non-profit civic organization serving the Iranian-American Jewish community. Sam has also served on the board of directors of the Jewish Community Foundation of Los Angeles (where he chaired its Cutting Edge Grants and COVID-19 Response Grants Committees), Bet Tzedek Legal Services, ETTA, the Anti-Defamation League, the Builders of Jewish Education, and is deeply involved with AIPAC and the Jewish Federation.

About Julie Higashi

Dr. Julie Higashi is currently the Director of the Tuberculosis Control Program in Los Angeles County Department of Public Health. She has been a public health physician since 2007, trained in internal medicine, and specializing in infectious diseases. She currently serves on the faculty for the UCSF Curry International Training Center and UCLA.

During the COVID-19 pandemic, Dr. Higashi has been providing advice about infection control practices and public health guidance to Jewish educational institutions, synagogues, and community programs. Dr. Higashi is a member of Congregation B’nai David Judea, and has served on the board of Shalhevet High School.

COVID Relief Gala Committee

  • Jonathan Anschell
  • Leslie Aronzon
  • Evelyn Baran
  • Adeena Bleich
  • Honorable Lili Bosse
  • Adam Englander
  • Josh Flagg
  • Melissa & Brian Haloossim
  • Thalia & Eric Kingsley
  • Abby Kohn
  • Susan and Bruce Levin
  • Matthew Louchheim
  • Orli Low and Jeff Feuer
  • Julie Platt
  • Nava & Amitai Raziel
  • Claudia & Sandy Samuels
  • Natasha and Kamyar Shabani
  • Roya and Jeff Sklar
  • Zach Sokoloff
  • Daniel Tenenbaum
  • Rabbanit Alissa Thomas-Newborn
  • Michelle and Steven Windmueller
Loans Made
New Loans a Year